Sweet and Sour Pork, um, yes please!!!

I love sweet and sour <insert meat here>!  Any time I go to a Chinese restaurant I order it.  I’ve had the bottled sauce, and they are ok as a dipping sauce, when you are desperate.  However, made from scratch is best in my opinion.

For this batch I used pork, but you could easily use chicken or tofu.  When I make my sweet and sour sauce, I tend to go a little more on the sour side.  That’s just my preference.  If you are more in the liking of the sweet side simply up the sugar to 1 cup.

Prep the meat first, so all I have to do at the end is fry it up.

WP_20130508_001

Cut up the meat of choice, I used about 2 pounds of pork, into bite size pieces.  Put in the refrigerator until it’s time to coat.

Next, make the sauce.

2 tbsp corn starch

1/4 c mirin

1/2 c rice wine vinegar (can also use apple cider vinegar)

1/4 c. ketchup

2 tbsp soy sauce

3/4 c sugar (if you like a sweeter sauce increase to 1 cup)

1/2 c pineapple juice (I use the juice from canned pineapple that I also use in the sauce)

Optional:

2/3 c pineapple chunks

2/3 c red pepper

1/2 c sliced carrots

2/3 c onions cut into chunks

1 tbsp oil

*To Coat the Meat: corn starch and rice flour

Put corn starch, mirin, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, and pineapple juice into a saucepan.  Stir thoroughly before you turn the heat on so the cornstarch doesn’t clump.  Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently.

WP_20130508_004

While the sauce is cooking, put all the optional ingredients in a pan and fry until the carrots, onions and peppers are soft and the pineapple has a little color to it.  Add this to the saucepan.

WP_20130508_003

Remove meat from fridge and coat with rice flour and corn starch.  For the two pounds of meat I used 1/2 cup rice flour and 1/2 cup corn starch.

WP_20130508_005

Fry in batches until crispy and brown.  Drain excess oil.

WP_20130508_009

Put meat on a platter, cover with sauce.

Serve with some rice and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

