Crazy Town

903412_10200187427821171_643502098_o
When you are used to your life because you live it day in and day out, it’s your normal.  Sure I know my home is a little chaotic at times, ok, most times, but it’s my normal.  However, after yesterday’s playdate with Ivy and her son Batman I really saw just how cray cray we are!!  Just one person that is not in my circle of “regulars” and the bubble is popped.  The hubs and I always joke about how life in our home is definitely loud, wild, and lively, but what I saw through Ivy’s eyes was pure nutzoville!!  Maybe if I hadn’t been to Ivy’s house the week before and experienced the calm, peaceful, ORGANIZED home she kept I probably wouldn’t have been so keen to this vision.  Maybe if I hadn’t seen the look on her face after she looked at the living room and asked “this is after you took three boxes of toys upstairs?”  I think I should have just told myself “she cleaned up right before I got to her house and bribed her kid with cookies and Disneyland”.

Then, just as I finally convinced myself living in Crazy Town was ok, she messaged me to say she was selling some of her kids’ toys and did I need more, the sarcasm was quickly noted and I made a decision…we’re moving from Crazy Town to one town over, Notso Crazy Town.  Toys will be culled, markers and crayons organized, bins and baskets properly used, and the toy room will be used!!!

Not sure what the twinadoes will think of the change, but they are young and will adjust.  We’ll never be quite as organized as Ivy, but we won’t be a shopping trip to Toys R Us away from being on Hoarders either.  And, just to note, we have no animal feces or dead things under massive piles of junk!!

Off to cull some toys…. Hey Ivy, we’re having a garage sale next weekend, need some toys?

Leave a comment