Who Doesn’t Love Some Teriyaki

The other day I was flipping through my Food and Wine magazine when I came across a teriyaki recipe that looked really good.  It probably didn’t help that I was hungry at the time…  In the recipe they used chicken breasts, but being that I’m not one to completely follow recipes, I used flank steak.  Love to use this cut of meat for teriyaki.  The recipe also calls for 2 tbsp. of sake, but I didn’t want to open a bottle just for that so I substituted 1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar and 1 tbsp. shaohsing rice cooking wine.

For the marinade:

1 c chicken stock or low sodium broth

1/2 c low sodium soy sauce

1/2 c sugar

2 tbsp. mirin

2 tbsp. sake (I substituted 1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar and 1 tbsp. shaohsing rice cooking wine)

Combine all the ingredients in a sauce pan and simmer until the liquid gets syrupy.  Don’t cook over high or it will burn, this takes 20-30 minutes so be patient.  Cool the sauce before using it to marinate the meat.  I marinated the flank steak overnight.  If I were using chicken I would not do it overnight, maybe an hour or two.  The actual recipe says to cook the chicken, then just drizzle the sauce over.  To be honest, that sounds pretty good too since it would leave the chicken taste and not just the taste of teriyaki sauce.

Since I marinated the raw meat in the sauce, I cooked the sauce again after using it as the marinade to make sure it would be safe for drizzling over the meat if anyone chose to do so.

I really liked this recipe.  Normally I do one that my mom used when I was a kid.  It had ginger in it, which I like.  Next tim I will add some to this recipe, but it’s still really good without.

Leave a Reply

