Chicken Salad

Sunday we picked up a rotisserie chicken from Costco after my son about jumped out of the cart when he saw them.  He can be a picky eater so when he sees something that doesn’t have sugar as the first ingredient we jump on it.  The chicken was a hit, but even so, a two 2 year olds can only eat so much chicken which got me thinking about a post I had read on some site, that I honestly don’t recall, about using a store bought rotisserie chicken for several meals.  I decided this chicken was going to be put to the test.  Even though I didn’t get four meals for 4 out of mine (still not so sure about the quantity she gave as each portion) but I did get some yummalicious chicken salad sandwiches.  I have probably had less than ten chicken salad sandwiches in my life, but after having a not so tasty one a few weeks ago I was dead set on making one that I liked.  I succeeded, and I hope you like it too!!

WP_20130623_001

Recipe:

breast meat from one rotisserie chicken, chopped into small pieces (or you can use whatever chicken breast meat you have)

1/4 c. dried cranberries

1/2 c. celery, diced

1/2 c. onion, diced

1/4 c. fresh parsley

1/2 c. pecans

1 tbsp. Dijon mustard

1/2 – 3/4 c. mayonnaise (depends on how creamy you like it)

1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar

2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. curry powder

Mix it all together and voila!!!  I didn’t put any pickles in my chicken salad, rather, I wanted to have it on the side, but you could definitely add that.  If you do it that way you might want to delete the apple cider vinegar.

Leave a Reply

