Simmered Chicken Stuffed with Rice

This is definitely being posted much later than I had hoped, but guess what… it happens.  I do apologize for the delay.

Anyway, I made this chicken that I saw on one of the cooking shows I watch, I think it was the Kimchi Chronicles, but I could be wrong.  They really didn’t have a recipe, not that I would have followed it, so I just sort of winged it.  And guess what?  It turned out pretty tasty.  After making it I can tell you that the possibilities are endless as to the flavor base you could use.  For the one I made I chose a more Asian flair.  It’s a fairly simple recipe (substitution in flavors would be equally simple) and it was pretty much a one pot meal.  Bonus!!!  What you ended up with was tender chicken, flavorful rice, and some vegetables that are so full of chickeny goodness my twins even ate them.

In a nutshell, you take a whole chicken, stuff it with rice that has been soaked for an hour or so,  put it in some broth that you season up.  Cook it for an hour and fifteen, then add some vegetables that you want to eat with it and voila, it’s done.  Pretty easy, right?

For the recipe:

DSC01520DSC01522 (1)DSC01458

1/2 c. rice, I used half brown calrose and half regular calrose

3 shitake mushrooms, diced

1 1/2 tbsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 tbsp. coriander powder

2 star anise

4 dried shitake mushrooms

1 piece of kelp, about 10″ or so

1 3″ piece of ginger, sliced

32 oz. chicken stock

1 whole chicken

1 whole onion, quartered

5 carrots, peeled and cut in half

2 c. daikon radish

handful of snap peas

5-6 radishes (I used ones I had pulled from my garden)

Soak the rice in water for an hour to hour and 15 minutes.  Don’t skip this step or your rice will not be cooked when the chicken is done.  Preheat oven to 350 F.  In a large oven proof pot add the salt, pepper, coriander powder, star anise, shitake mushrooms, kelp (trust me on this one, gives such good flavor), and chicken stock.  Season the cavity of the chicken with salt and pepper, then stuff with the rice (be sure to drain after soaking) and the diced shitake mushrooms.  Truss the chicken legs to help the rice stay in while cooking.  Place the chicken in the pot and add either more chicken stock (which is what I did) or water to not quite cover.  Put in the oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  After that time add the daikon radish, peas and radishes and cook for another 15-20 minutes.  If you want to use another type of vegetable keep in mind it’s cooking time and adjust when you put it in.  When you take this out of the oven it is extremely hot, so take caution…. Fish out the ginger pieces, you could leave them in but make sure not to eat them. The rest of the vegetables I leave in.  Skim the top to remove some of the fat out of the broth.  The chicken is extremely tender, fall off the bone tender, so you could do two things: take the whole chicken out of the pot to pull apart and remove the rice, or you could leave it in the pot, pull off pieces with tongs and scoop the rice from there (remember to cut the string from the legs).  Since it was just my family, no guests, I chose the latter.  I used tongs to move the chicken in a way that exposed the cavity, allowing me to scoop out the rice.  I then just pulled off pieces and put them in bowls with some of the rice, broth, and vegetables.  Next time I would put a little chopped cilantro on top, but was still really good without it.

DSC01523 (1)

Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

