Growing Zucchini in Containers

What I want to grow and what I have room to grow are two different things. If it were up to me I would have an acre of garden beds and all the time in the world to tend to them. The reality is, I live in suburbia with my little backyard garden. Thankfully, I don’t live on one of those tiny plots of land where you can touch your neighbor’s house from your porch. Since I also don’t live on the acres and acres I must get creative with what I do have. So this year I decided to see what all I could grow in containers. Obviously tomatoes, peppers and eggplants do quite well, but what about zucchini? I planted about six different varieties of squash and wanted to grow as many as I could. Instead of doing flowers all along the back deck I decided to do the mostly vegetables. The pots are bigger and I figured would give enough room for the zucchinis to be happy.

 

DSC01538 DSC01537 DSC01539

Look at these beauties.  The containers are around 20 gallons, so they are larger.  I have tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants in 7 gallon containers, and from what I’ve read, that should be fine.  However, I know zucchinis need room, I’m just not sure as to exactly how much.  The middle picture is of the Italian striped zucchini, it has three small zucchinis about 3-4 inches in size, so it must be somewhat happy.  If this is successful I will definitely do it again.  Now I just need to find a place that sells the black nursery pots for a decent price…

Leave a Reply

