Garden Glimpse 7/18/13

I’m so thrilled with the progress of my garden.  I’m having some failures, but a lot more successes… The key word for my garden seems to be TOMATOES!!!  I’m learning a lot for next year’s garden.  Now I need to find my garden journal and make notes.  This year was a sort of test year to see what exactly I could do, what would work and what I simply think is a waste of time.  Time and space is very precious so next year I will not waste either.

DSC01576 DSC01578 DSC01580 DSC01597

DSC01584 DSC01585 DSC01586

Look at my tomatoes!!!  They are getting huge!!!  I love seeing the little tomatoes all over them.  Sadly, thanks to a certain 2 1/2 year old I no longer have name tags in them.  Hopefully next year it won’t be as big a problem.  She just has this obsession with pulling the tags out of EVERYTHING!!

DSC01595 DSC01583 DSC01606 DSC01605 DSC01589 DSC01590 DSC01592 DSC01593 DSC01594 DSC01582

The fruit, the beautiful fruit…. We have been gobbling up the golden raspberries right and left, but we just can’t keep up with them.  I haven’t found a way to freeze them.  They are so darn delicate and never quite make it into the house unscathed.  Oh well….  The blueberries are doing fairly well, especially considering this their first year.  I’m hoping that they will get bigger and better in the coming years.  It’s hard to tell from the pictures, but my fig tree is really getting tall.  It reaches the second story window.  Strangely, I really don’t care for them, but I find them really pretty.  Unless the raccoons and squirrels get them, we should get a lot of Asian apples.  My kids LOVE them.  It’s always a sad day when we pick the last ones.  Not sure why I grow rhubarb, I don’t eat it and it takes up a lot of space.  Maybe I’ll make a pie or something and it will change my mind, but doubt it.  Now for my Meyer lemon trees…We had a little watering accident and one of them was overwatered and now looks like it should be on the clearance section of a Lowes….but the other two are doing great.  The lemons are getting bigger and bigger, still only the size of a gumball but that’s still pretty cool to me!!

DSC01604 DSC01603 DSC01581 DSC01580 DSC01587 DSC01588 DSC01577

The rest of the garden is coming along nicely.  Purple beans are finally here, Thing 2 is crazy for them.  The Brussels sprouts are hanging on, sadly, the broccoli was not so lucky.  Thing 2 kept eating the little florets as soon as you could see them.  As long as she got a nice snack I should consider it a success.  The artichokes are on their way out.  Not sure if they will come back or what, I think I’ll do a little investigating on the internet.  If two years is their limit then I’m going to pull them out.  Those things take up a lot of space!!  The peppers that I planted from seed are quite sad looking so I broke down and purchased some, those on the other hand are doing great. The celery, some of it is growing great and others are really struggling.  Not sure why…

DSC01579 DSC01598 DSC01574 DSC01573

This was my first year growing zucchini in containers.  I wanted to see if it would work, and it did.  It’s actually doing much better than the ones I put directly in the ground and in the garden beds.  I’m still hoping that the non container zucchinis will produce….

DSC01631 DSC01630

I’ve always put flowers in my yard, especially ones that attract humming birds, butterflies, birds etc…  These globe thistles are always a hit with the hummingbirds.  I have some planted outside my living room window so I can see the hummingbirds when they come.  The plants are easily over 6 feet tall!!  I’ll have to take pictures of the other flowers I have.  This year I used the majority of space on vegetables, but I could never completely ignore flowers, they make things so much more beautiful.

DSC01601 DSC01600 DSC01599

My herbs are always great growers.  This year I did a lemon pot with lemon grass and lemon verbena.  I’m hoping I can winter it over like I did the lemon verbena last year.  A little research will be in order for this one.  Sage, oregano, thyme, parsley, and chives are huge.  I never use it all but I never dry it either…I think I just might do that this year.  I’m still trying to find some interesting thing to do with the shiso leaves.

DSC01596

And now to the big fail….this garden just won’t do anything.  The cilantro went right to seed.  The honeysuckle seems stuck at the same size, I can almost hear the pepper plants choking and coughing.  The only thing that seems somewhat happy are the strawberries and the artichoke plant.  Next year this garden WILL flourish!!!

Time to get my hands dirty……

 

 

Leave a Reply

