It’s My Anniversary!!!

Seven years ago today I got married.  It wasn’t a fancy ceremony, in fact, it was a quickie in Las Vegas.  Do I regret doing it that way?  Hell no!!!  I was never the girl that dreamed of her wedding.  In fact, until I hit my 30’s I really didn’t think I wanted to get married.

I’m the most non romantic person on the Earth.  I don’t need or want flowers, unless they are in a pot and I can plant them in my garden.  I don’t desire tons of jewelry or other tokens of my husbands’s affection (although I do have a picture of a ring wrap I would like hanging on the fridge…) and I certainly don’t need some cheesy card that professes oodles and oodles of love.  In fact, it kind of makes me ill thinking about it.

This morning as we were getting dressed I told my husband “I think it’s our anniversary today”.  He thought for a second and said “oh yeah, it is.  Happy anniversary”.  Then we chuckled and went along getting dressed and wrangling the twinadoes.  That’s called an anniversary at my house.  That’s how this Real Housewife of Suburbia does it!!!  But just to be nice and cheesy, I posted on Facebook some ridiculous post about marrying my best friend and how I can’t wait for the next billion years…. some will think I’m totally being serious, but those that really know me will laugh and know what I really mean.

Marriage is tough!!  Anyone that says it’s not lies, and I’ll see you in therapy or divorce court.  Same with the people that say they never fight and that they always get along….. yeah right!  Not believing one word of it.  I don’t begrudge anyone their romantic dinners, bouquets of flowers, sparkly jewelry or other nifty gifts given for anniversaries, it’s just not for me.  I’m happy not stressing about what to do for our anniversary and just having another nice day….

Oh, and for dinner?  We are having breakfast, maybe I’ll make the pancakes in the shapes of hearts….

One thought on “It’s My Anniversary!!!

  1. HAPPY (belated) ANNIVERSARY! It is work, lots of work. Believe me, I know. I’m personally really glad I stuck it out, though, and worked through each of those issues; because the big reward comes after all that is settled, over time, and communication is key. The folks who don’t fight, IMHO, have superior communication than most of the rest of us do. Because once you can really communicate, you can talk everything out in advance, and arrive at mutual conclusions and solutions…. and so there’s no fighting. I’ve never been happier than I am now, with Mr. Johnson 🙂 It only took 22 years to get there! Love to you both!!!

Leave a Reply

