Culling the Crap

Is it just me or does the changing of the seasons make you want to change things up in life?  Sometimes something major like a baby or something not so major, like hair color.  The end of summer is always bittersweet for me.  I truly love the fall, it brings the wind and crazy rain as well as that smell in the air that only fall can bring.  But the end of summer is also sad, it’s the end of my garden, long days, sun (won’t be seeing that again until next year!!) and those early mornings where the day just seems like the perfect stretch of time to get and endless amount of stuff done.  I’m a little early thinking so much about this transition, after all, we still have several weeks left of summer to enjoy.

I think in part, it has to do with all the advertisements for Halloween and Christmas stuff already.  I absolutely love the holiday season, which for me starts October 1st when I decorate for Halloween.  But I’m just not ready to rush it.  Let’s slow it down a bit and enjoy the current season.  I want to have a nice smooth transition into fall so it’s time to do a clean-up around here.  Time to get rid of the junk we don’t need, organize the items we want to keep and just try to get some kind of sanity going on!!!  Twins come with a lot of stuff.  I come with a lot of stuff.  Life comes with a lot of stuff.  I don’t consider myself a hoarder (strangely, isn’t that what all those people on the show say?) but it’s hard for me to get rid of stuff.  I either think I will use it in the future or it’s just such a neat item (even though I haven’t used it in years) that I just can’t part with it.

So I will be challenging myself to cull the crap!!!  Will I succeed?  Maybe.  Maybe I’ll have to set the bar a little lower so my end result will definitely be a success…..  Hhhhmmm, I should just post a pic of some of the crap and then I’ll feel the pressure to be able to post an “after” pic…… Nah!!  I’m not that crazy!

Leave a Reply

