Tasty and Spicy Chicken Tacos/Burritos

My hubs says “spicy food makes me happy”, so last night I made some super spicy chicken tacos/burritos.  The beauty of this recipe is you can make it as spicy as you desire.  The sauce is the spicy part, so just use caution when drizzling/pouring on your tacos.  Of course I used my oh so loved Hatch chilies.

Normally I would use red tomatoes, but since I had an abundant amount of Marglobes fresh from my garden I used those.

The seasoning amounts will leave you extra, but the stuff is just so darn good I like having some around.  It goes great on pork as well as chicken.

DSC01678

Recipe For The Seasoning:

2 Tbsp. Oregano

1 Tbsp. Cumin

1Tbsp. Garlic Powder

1 Tbsp. Coriander Powder

1 Tbsp. Salt

1 1/2 tsp. Paprika

2 tsp. Pepper

DSC01674

Mix it all together in a bowl.  Remember, if you touch the raw chicken and put your hand in the seasoning DO NOT SAVE THE SEASONING.  I use a spoon so no raw chicken touches the seasoning.

Recipe For Spicy Chicken Sauce:

1 medium onion, cut so it will fit in your blender

2 tomatoes (I used yellow ones so my sauce will look different than if using red), cut so they will fit in your blender

4 garlic cloves

1/2 c. chicken stock

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 medium onion, sliced

2 tsp. pepper

1 Tbsp. salt

10 roasted Hatch chili peppers, chopped

1/2 c. cilantro

10 chicken thighs (you could always use breasts)

tortillas (flour or corn, whatever you prefer, could also use taco shells)

DSC01675

In a blender, blend the onion, tomatoes, garlic cloves and chicken stock.  Should be free of lumps.  Set aside.

DSC01677

In a saucepan, caramelize the onions.  Add the salt, pepper and Hatch peppers, and the blended mixture from above.  Cook another 10 minutes.

Either use an immersion blender or your regular blender (be sure to use caution with a regular blender since this will still be hot), and blend all the ingredients.  Add the cilantro and blend more.

DSC01676

While the sauce is cooking, barbeque the chicken.  I like to season my chicken and let it sit for ten minutes before tossing on the barbeque.  Don’t over cook your chicken, nothing worse than dry icky chicken.

I served these with lettuce, tomatoes, cilantro and cheese to go on top.  As side dishes I did simple black beans, seasoned with a little butter, salt and pepper and my kid friendly Spanish rice (long grain rice made with chicken stock and diced tomatoes.  When I’m not serving my twinadoes I do a spicier version.

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

