Alternative Meats, I Say Yes!!

beef tongue dinner

(I was going to try and make the plate all pretty, clean up everything, but then I decided I wanted to show it just as I serve it)

I’m going to take a leap here and guess that beef tongue is not on the dinner menu in a lot of homes out there.  When I tell people that we eat it I usually get “the look”.  It’s a look of “how could you eat that”.  I simply say, until you’ve had it, don’t knock it.  Yes, it’s not the most appealing thing when you think about it, it’s a cow’s tongue.  That thing you see hanging out, licking everything etc…  You don’t just get it from a package and throw it on the grill.  However, if you cook it properly, it can be one of the most tender pieces of meat  you will ever have.  Trust me, or better yet, try it for yourself.

When I was a kid my dad made beef tongue several times a month.  I loved it!!  I knew when he was cooking it because the smell of ginger was just so overwhelming, but in a good way.  I still make it the same way my dad did.  I have tried other ways, and like them, but the majority of the time I still do it the I was taught.

There’s really no measuring anything, in fact, when I did it tonight I really tried to measure.  It was a challenge… If you are a cook, and I sure hope you are, cook one and just see….maybe you might like it.  My husband and kids love beef tongue.  Granted they are toddlers and have yet to get the fear of foods that are “not normal”, and I sure hope I can prevent that as best as I can.

Recipe:

1 beef tongue, normally I don’t wash my meat but beef tongues I do give a rinse

2 large onions quartered

2 bay leaves

2 four inch (or so) pieces of ginger, thickly sliced

6 cloves of garlic, whole

water to almost cover the beef tongue

1 c. soy sauce (I use low sodium)

Place all the ingredients in a heavy pot, bring to almost a boil and then reduce the heat to a low simmer.  Let cook for 2-3 hours depending on the size of your beef tongue.  You can do this in a pressure cooker, it will only take about 50 minutes, again, depending on size of the meat.  When it’s done, let it cool enough to handle.  Some people don’t peel off the “skin” of the tongue, I do.  Then slice and serve with rice.

*I went to a deli that served beef tongue and liver pate sandwiches.  Oh my goodness were those good.  You can also skip the pate and just make a regular sandwich.

Leave a Reply

