Tomatoes To Tomato Sauce

DSC01770

This morning I picked almost twenty pounds of tomatoes, a few cucumbers and some summer squash.  We had ridiculous rain last night, with thunder and lightening, so needless to say, some of my tomatoes split.  But no waste around here!!  I’m making some homemade tomato sauce.  I guess it’s more like marinara sauce since I’ll be adding extra vegetables, herbs and seasonings to it to make it ready for pasta.  The vegetables I use will vary, depending on what is in season, what is growing in my garden and what I have on hand.  The onions and carrots are usually always added, but throw in whatever you have.  I’ve used peeled and diced broccoli stems, that was really good.  Just use what you like.  What I won’t be adding is meat.

For the Recipe:

10 lbs. tomatoes (doesn’t need to be exact, just close)

1 can tomato paste

2 carrots, diced

1 large onion, diced

1 summer squash, diced and any big seeds scooped out

1/4 c. fresh parsley, minced

1 tbsp. dried oregano

1 tbsp. dried basil

1 tbsp. fresh rosemary

1 tbsp. fresh thyme

2 tbsp. garlic, minced

1 1/2 tbsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

2 tbsp. sugar (may need more or less depending on the sweetness of your tomatoes)

2 tbsp. olive oil

DSC01772 DSC01773

To start, I cut my tomatoes so I can run them through the food mill to remove seeds and skins.  You could use a blender then strain it if you don’t have a food mill.

DSC01777

Put all ingredients in a heavy bottom pot and let cook for about 2 hours.  The sauce will thicken and deepen in color.  I like to use the emulsion blender to blend in all the veggies I put in, this is totally up to you.  Taste, add salt, sugar or whatever else you need in order to suit your taste.

I don’t add meat to this since it’s such a large batch and I will separate this into several different containers.  Later, I’ll add meat and anything else I want to fit the recipe I’m making.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

