Orange Curd and a Starbuck’s Greek Yogurt Parfait

DSC01788

This week I had a play date at Poison Ivy’s house right at lunch time.  She was making mac-n-cheese for the shorties so I thought adult food was in order for us.  Although she graciously offered to make egg salad sandwiches (even though she didn’t have any mustard, gotta love this girl) I figured she was already making food for the kids and hosting so I should bring our food.  We decided that panini’s from Starbucks would be a good choice.  Once I got there they had this big sign for Greek yogurt parfaits that looked yummalicious, so I bought the berry and the spiced mango.  They ended up being really good, but totally something that could be done at home for much less than the $4.95 per parfait.  The berry parfait had a lemon glaze that gave it the perfect amount sweetness to offset the tart plain yogurt and since Meyer lemon season has been over for a while I decided to substitute orange.

DSC01786

So today when Poison Ivy said she was on her way over to pick up Robin I whipped up a batch of orange curd.  Even though it didn’t have time to really cool and set it was fabulous on our homemade version of the Starbucks Greek yogurt parfait.  I think I might have even inspired Poison Ivy to make it for her family that is coming this week.

I made this a little sweeter than I normally would since I was putting it over the Greek yogurt.  My one tip, taste the juice of the orange for sweetness.  If it’s really sweet, reduce the sugar and increase if it is tart.  The oranges I used were fairly sweet.  If I were using this for scones or something sweet I would definitely reduce the amount of sugar.

For the Recipe;

3 large eggs

2 large egg yolks

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. fresh squeezed orange juice

2 tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 tbsp. orange zest

1 tsp. lemon zest

8 tbsp. butter, cut in one tbsp. pieces

In a glass bowl, whip the eggs and sugar until they are creamy and have a nice silky look.  Add all the juice and zest, mix in well.  Cook this over a double boiler (I simply put the glass bowl over a pot of simmering water) stirring frequently.  Once the mixture gets warm add the butter.  It will thicken as it cooks, roughly ten or so minutes.  Carefully remove the bowl from the pot of simmering water.  This will need to cool down (even though I never can wait hours and hours…).

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

