Semi-Homemade Clam Chowder

clam chowder 2

This clam chowder was a spur of the moment dinner that shocked even me.  Clam chowder really isn’t difficult to make, and when you do it semi-homemade it’s even easier.  It’s like I had committed to the clam chowder, even after realizing I didn’t have all my “normal” ingredients, but I trudged on ahead making due with what I had.  The two ingredients missing were the bacon and parsley.  I can honestly say I have never made clam chowder without those two items.  Instead, I used dill for the parsley, and absolutely nothing for the bacon.  The result?  YUMMALICIOUSNESS!!!  Why do I call this semi-homemade?  Because I used canned clams, now I know I probably should have used some type of frozen potatoes and onions to really make it the Sandra Lee way, but I can only go so far…

For the Recipe:

1 tbsp. olive oil

6 tbsp. butter

2 onions, chopped

2 1/2 c. celery, chopped

1 carrot, chopped

1 tbsp. salt

2 tsp. pepper

2 c. potatoes, cubed (I like to do about 1/4 c. really small cubes to help thicken the soup)

6 6.5 oz. cans chopped clams (I like to drain the liquid through a strainer using a coffee filter to get rid of any sand)

1 tbsp. dill (I used dried)

3/4 c. cream

In a large heavy bottom sauce pan heat up the oil and butter, add the onions, celery, carrot, salt and pepper.  Cook until the vegetables are soft and the onions a little brown.  Add the potatoes and let cook for 5 minutes or until the potatoes start to get a little soft (not cooked).  Add in the strained liquid from the clams, clams and dill.  Let cook another 10 minutes, potatoes should be completely done.  Add the cream and cook an additional few minutes.  Tada, you are done!!  Super easy, right?

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

