Asparagus Soup

asparagus soup

I can’t believe I first had this delicious soup just a year ago.  What in the world?  I adore asparagus, adore it, so how could I have not enjoyed this delight sooner?  Last summer I had purchased a lot of asparagus, and I mean a lot…like ten pounds.  It’s not like the stuff lasts forever in the fridge so I knew I needed to get creative with some recipes.  While surfing the internet I came across a picture of some asparagus soup that just made my eyes widen and my mouth get all tingly.  I had found the recipe to try.  I was not disappointed.

Of course I had to customize it to fit more of my tastes and my twinadoes.  Soup is one of the ways I get extra vegetables into their diet.  They love soup as much as me.  However, I didn’t want it to become some crazy vegetable soup, so I was selective with the additions.  I decided on adding carrots, broccoli and potatoes.  It really worked for us and hopefully you will like it too.

For the Recipe:

3 lbs. fresh asparagus

6 1/2 c. chicken or vegetable stock

6 tbsp. unsalted butter

1 large onion, chopped

1 large carrot, chopped

1 tbsp. garlic, minced

1 tbsp. salt

2 tsp. pepper

2-3 Yukon gold potatoes,cubed (I like this type, but feel free to use whatever you prefer)

Heat 6 cups of the broth in a sauce pan to a boil.  While you are waiting for the broth, cut the tips and woody ends off the asparagus, set in two piles.  You will now want to cut the remaining stalks of the asparagus into about one inch pieces.  Add the woody ends to the broth and cook for about 30 minutes.  Using a slotted spoon, scoop them out and throw away.  Now put the tips in the broth to barely cook.  Take them out and set aside, they will be used as a garnish at the end.  In another pot that’s large enough to hold the stock and vegetables, heat 4 tbsp. of the butter.  Add the onions and carrots, let cook for about 5 minutes then add the garlic, salt and pepper.  Cook for another 1-2 minutes then add the one inch pieces of asparagus stalks.  Cook for a few minutes then add the stock.  Cook for about 15 minutes, until the asparagus is tender.  while this is cooking, heat 2 tbsp. of butter in a skillet and add the cubed potatoes.  Cook for about 5-7 minutes then add the last 1/2 cup of broth.  Cook the potatoes until tender.  Once the asparagus is tender use either an emulsion blender or regular blender to puree the soup until smooth.  Test for the need of any salt or pepper.  Serve in bowls with some of the asparagus tops and potatoes.

Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

