Pancetta and Cheese Bread Bowl

For some reason I got the urge to watch football and make some game day food.  Normally I do not watch football on Sundays, I’ll sometimes check the scores, but that’s about as far as I go.  Maybe it was the Seahawks 4-0 record, or something else…. not sure.  Anyhoo…one of the items on my list of food to make was cheese dip, but not just the normal dip.  I felt I needed to RHOS it up and pancetta was just the answer.  I’ve done fondue, but never made a cheese dip so I was kind of flying blind on this one, thankfully, I ended up with some gooey goodness.

pancetta cheese bowl

For the Recipe:

1 loaf of French bread, center hollowed out

5 oz. pancetta, fried

2 8 oz. containers cream cheese, softened

4 oz. swiss cheese, grated

8 oz. cheddar cheese, grated

1/4 c. parmesan cheese, grated

1/2 red onion, diced

3 green onions, sliced

1/2 red pepper, diced

3 shakes Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp. pepper

1 tsp. garlic powder

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Set the bread aside.  Mix all other ingredients in a bowl, making sure to mix well.  Place the bread on a baking sheet, then fill with the mixture.  Bake in the oven for about 30-40 minutes, or until the cheese is nice and bubbly.  Serve with corn chips, sliced and toasted baguette slices, or whatever you desire.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

