Buttermilk Cilantro Dressing

I had some leftover salmon from last night that I wanted to make into a salad for dinner tonight, but I wanted something tangy and fresh to use as dressing.  I didn’t want my usual vinaigrette, but wanted some zip….and then I spied the buttermilk.  I had been watching one of those food shows and they made blue cheese dressing using buttermilk so that just stuck in my head.  Blue cheese was not going to satiate my taste buds tonight so I continued digging in the fridge for an idea.  Then I remembered the cilantro I bought yesterday, and thought, that’s it!!!

I pulled out the food processor and started tossing in a little of this and a little of that until I had the results I wanted.  Boy oh boy do I think this stuff is good.  Even the hubs thought it was delicious.  I had some rice on the side with my salad and I ended up drizzling some over the top….yes, it’s that good.  I personally think it would be good over many things, but you will have to make it and see what you think…  I really hope you do give it a try.

cilantro dressing

For the Recipe:

1/2 c. buttermilk

1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1 tsp. garlic

3 tbsp. mayonnaise

1 tsp. red onion

3/4 c. cilantro

1 tsp. salt, or to taste

pinch of pepper, or to taste

Put all the ingredients into a food processor and blend until well blended.  There will still be tiny pieces of cilantro if you use the processor, if this bothers you simply use a blender.  Super simple but oh so delicious!!

Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

