Candied Pecans

candied pecans finished

Only finished the title of this post before I had to run and grab a few more candied pecans…yes, they are that good.  I have my quickie version that I use for walnuts and pecans when I’m rushing, but this one… it’s so stinking good!!!  I’ve been seeing so many recipes for candied pecans and walnuts, and they always seem to add some cayenne for some kick to offset the sweet, if you are looking for that, stop now and look up another recipe.  No cayenne here, sorry.  No chili powder either.  I’m a big fan of cardamom so I wanted to see if it could be used in a candied pecan recipe, and it can.  I’m still munching on these things, I think I should have made more.

For the Recipe:

3 c. pecans

1 c. sugar

1 tsp. cardamom

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 c. water

1/2 tbsp. butter

sea salt for sprinkling

Toast pecans in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10 minutes (don’t forget about them, they will go from being nice and toasty to burnt quite quick).  Once you take them out, lower the temperature to 300 degrees F.  While you are toasting the pecans, in a heavy saucepan add the sugar, cardamom and cinnamon and mix well.  Add the water and butter, heat over medium heat.  The mixture will start to boil and get syrupy looking, takes about 10 minutes to get to this point.  Let it bubble away for another 5 minutes.  This is awful, but I do not use a candy thermometer, I just go by the way it looks and it works for me every time, but you basically want the soft ball stage, 235 degrees F – 240 degrees F.  Add the toasted pecans to this mixture and cook another 5 minutes.  Put a layer of parchment paper on a baking sheet and spread the pecans in a single layer.  Return to the 300 degree F oven and bake for 30-35 minutes.  They will be bubbly when you take them out, which means super hot so use caution.  Sprinkle with the sea salt and let cool.  Once cooled, break them apart and store in an airtight container.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

