Blog That Makes Me Go Hhhmmm…..

I’ve been doing a lot of blog reading and not a lot of blog writing lately, but that’s just how I roll.  I have a few that I read quite regularly, some that I check in on every so often and others that I only read when I get an update that looks really interesting.  One blog in particular, which shall remain nameless, has kind of become a little lower on my radar due to a few things.  Now first off, I know we all will annoy people at some point, and I get that.  Not everyone is going to be our biggest fan at all times, or sometimes ever, and again, I’m ok with that.  But this particular site was all about frugality and living on an extremely low amount of money each month.  It really intrigued me.  I wanted to see how someone could pull it off, and with some creativity and some interesting ways to count their tally each month it was done.  But then it seemed like overnight this frugal tightwad decided it was just a tad too hard to live in such a manner and wanted to ease up on the purse strings.  I don’t know why, but how they did it just kind of bugged me.  They started talking about their high end this and that, their upper middle-class lifestyle and how they needed to keep up certain appearances.

Maybe what got to me was reading about this person’s last minute weekend trip to Europe mixed in with their complaint about having to spend more than $60 at Costco.  I know there is always two sides to every story, they probably scrimp to manage their weekend getaway trips to Europe, and all that… yes, I get that.  I could just stop reading it all together, but now I like to see the trials and tribulations of this person to live in a high end, high maintenance world while keeping a frugal edge.

Now don’t think that I’m one of those other side of the fence overly envious people that just hates on others that have stuff.  Nopes, not me.  I’m simply stating an opinion I have on a blog.

2 thoughts on “Blog That Makes Me Go Hhhmmm…..

  1. I agree. Completely. It can be rationalized, but the blogger is “playing” at frugality, the kind many in lesser situations (Europe?!) NEED help with and take seriously. Which to me is insulting to the people who practice what they preach. Walk the talk.

  2. I also have a friend who is upper-middle-class and yet pinches pennies and complains “I’m not going to pay five dollars for THAT!” — and yet spends thousands on vacations, trips, remodeling, and a million other things. It’s just that pick-and-choose mentality that bugs me. Like, tip the waiter extra, maybe? Don’t bitch about what something costs when you spend far more on things that are luxuries to other people? She means well, but that bugs me. Thank you for letting me vent.

Leave a Reply

