My Beloved Meyer Lemons…

32 meyer lemons

32 beautiful Meyer lemons just waiting to be processed…

Several years ago I happened to be talking to a gentleman in the produce department of a grocery store, I can’t remember why I even started talking to him, but somehow we got on the topic of lemons.  To me a lemon was a lemon but I was quickly schooled on that belief.  He told me about Meyer lemons and how they differed from the normal lemons you find everywhere.  Of course this intrigued me and I needed to experience this wondrous lemon for myself.

Unfortunately, where I live you cannot just head to your local store and pick up a bag, no sir… First, they are not sold in every store, and secondly, you need to catch them during their season.  So when Meyer lemon season rolls around (November) I go cray cray and buy tons for zesting and juicing.  Meyer lemons are sweeter than it’s counterpart so it’s great for making all kinds of desserts, which is what I do.  I like to keep lemon zest in my freezer all the time so it’s available to me whenever a recipe calls for it.  In my kitchen, it’s considered a staple.

The past few years Costco has carried my beloved Meyer lemons, so that means I can get 16 of them for about six dollars.  As much as I’d like to purchase a pallet of them I need to take into consideration that I have the twinadoes to contend with while I process lemons, which means I cannot do as many at one time as I’d like.  I end up getting that pallet, just not at one.

When I process my lemons I start by washing them.  Since I will be consuming the skins I want it clean.  Next the zesting.  Be sure to zest before juicing, I know, seems like a no brainer…

zester zested lemons

I love how the kitchen smells after zesting lemons, it’s simply glorious.  It’s a tad tedious and after 32 of them my hand did start to hurt a little but I’m ok with that, the results are so worth it.

lemon zest

The product of my labor….

Next, the juicing.  It’s another tedious job, but again, so worth the effort.  I do not own an electric juicer, which would make this step go a lot quicker, but I survived.  If you have any cuts or scrapes you will definitely want to wear gloves, unless you are in to that kind of thing… I put a strainer over a Pyrex glass measuring cut to strain out the seeds and pulp while juicing.

meyer lemon juice

Aaaahhhh, the juice of my labor.

lemon carcass

All that remains of the lemons.  Before you toss these into the yard waste bin to be recycled, throw one into your sink disposal to get rid of any icky smells that might be lurking.  You might want to cut it up a bit, just to make sure your disposal can handle it.  The smell of ground up lemon carcass…again, heavenly.

I’m off to buy more Meyer lemons….

Leave a Reply

