Homemade Hamburger Helper

homemade hamburger helper

Believe it or not, I didn’t have my first taste of Hamburger Helper until I was in my early 20’s.  I think I bought it on a whim, just wanting to see what the heck the stuff was, of course back then there wasn’t the 3001 flavors there are today.  It wasn’t bad, wasn’t the greatest stuff I’ve ever eaten, but then again, are you really expecting much from a box of noodles and mystery powder?  After that first box, I had it another few times, but that was about it.  Fast forward a few years and I now have twinadoes to feed, and noodles are sometimes the only thing they will eat.  I came across some Annie’s organic “Hamburger Helper” so decided to give it a try.  Thing 1 and Thing 2 actually liked it, so I knew I had to recreate this at home.

So to start, I had jotted down a few of the ingredients that were on the Annie’s box.  Of course they keep things a little vague, but it was still very helpful.  I didn’t want to end up with beef stroganoff, but I wanted something creamy and tasty.  I think what I ended up with was pretty darn delicious.

Recipe:

1 lb. ground beef

2 tbsp. olive oil

1/2 onion, minced

1/2 c. celery, minced

6 tbsp. tomato paste

2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 tbsp. garlic, minced

2 tbsp. Dijon mustard

3 1/2 c. beef broth

2 tbsp. mascarpone cheese (optional)

6 oz. cheddar cheese, grated

8 oz. package of egg noodles, cooked barely al dente

Brown the ground beef in a heavy bottom fry pan, drain and set aside.  In that same pan, fry the onion and celery in the olive oil until tender, about 7 minutes.  Add the tomato paste and let cook until the past deepens in color, about 3 or so minutes.  Add salt, pepper, garlic, Dijon mustard, and beef, mix well.  Add the broth and mascarpone cheese, if using.  Taste for seasoning, add additional if needed.  Lastly, toss in the noodles and let them finish cooking.  The liquid will thicken as it cooks.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

