Lemon Curd

yogurt and lemon curd parfait

Lemon curd was one of those foods I thought I would try once I hit 60, I would buy jars of it and put it on random things and eat it in my garden as I watched bunnies….  um, ok, maybe I had a little too much to drink during that particular flash forward.  But honestly, I really never thought to try the stuff.  I had passed it in stores, but never gave it a second thought.  Then I went to a tea house that served scones and lemon curd, my first thought was “why in the world was I passing you by?”.  Why do I still pass it by?  Well, because making it at home is so much better!!!  You know exactly what goes in and how fresh it is, besides, it’s really easy.

I like my lemon curd a little more tart, so if you are on the sweeter side of things you will want to increase the sugar to a full cup.

Recipe:

6 egg yolks

3/4 c. sugar

1/3 c. fresh Meyer lemon juice (if you don’t have Meyer lemons you can use regular)

2 1/2 tbsp. grated lemon zest

1/2 c. cold unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces

One thought on “Lemon Curd

Leave a Reply

