Thankful…

Thanksgiving is so much fun!!! The craziness of all the food and activities is addictive, I think I could do this weekly. Crazy, I know… This is the first year I’ve taken pictures of food I’m making, why the heck haven’t I been doing this previously? For one, this is my first year having a blog, website and Facebook page (other than my personal one) so I never thought to really take any. Now I take pictures and write down ingredients, another first.

Quite honestly, I feel thankful throughout the year, not just when we are supposed to spout off about being thankful. I’m thankful for the usual biggies…but then there are the smaller ones that really shouldn’t be considered “small”. Everyday I wake up and think how lucky I am to have such a nice life. I have a roof over my head, healthy and happy kids, food in all our bellies, and many luxuries that I know I am damn lucky to have.

I think that the Thanksgivings of today are definitely different than what our parents had and generations before, that doesn’t mean they are any less special, we’ve just transformed. We no longer get cards in the mail wishing us a Happy Thanksgiving, we get texts and emails. My little old lady friend that passed away last Thanksgiving would always send cards, as soon as I saw the envelope in the mail I knew who it was from.

Black Friday….now it’s Black November!! It seems that every day it was “Black Friday deal right now” on every store page. It’s very overwhelming, and I must admit, I don’t really hunt them down, I do the lazy way and wait for other people to post about them. As for today, well, I don’t see myself running out to get early deals, not because I’m offended that any retailer would expect their employees to work on a holiday (for the record, I have worked several Thanksgiving Days) more so I’m just not in the mood. I would rather be at home with my family and friends sleeping off our big meal, and the several mini ones that follow, watching movies and relaxing. And yes, I do think it stinks for the workers that are not doing the same, but that is a totally different post for me…

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!!! I need to go deal with a turkey and a goose…

Leave a Reply

