Seaweed Salad

seaweed salad

One of my favorite restaurants, Din Tai Fun, has a seaweed salad that is so beyond delicious I eat it every chance I get.  Unfortunately, I don’t get there as often as I would like so I have to improvise…I came up with one that I make at home, and I think it’s pretty darn good.  Now if only I could master their dumplings, I don’t see that happening any time soon…

seaweed mix

I use a seaweed mix that I pick up at one of the several asian markets I shop.  If you do not have a store that you can buy a seaweed mix they are available online.  The rest of the ingredients can be found at most regular grocery stores.

For the Recipe:

1 package bean thread noodles (about 3 oz, but does not need to be exact)

2 packages of the seaweed mix

6 oz. tofu

For the Dressing:

2/3 c. rice wine vinegar

6 tbsp. sugar

2 tbsp. soy sauce (I use low sodium)

2 tbsp. sesame oil

3 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted

Soak the bean thread noodles in hot water for 10-15 minutes.  Check the package of the seaweed mix you use, mine is packed in salt so it needs to be rinsed several times but not all of them are the same.  After the rinse, let soak for 5 minutes in clean cold water, then drain well.  Drain the tofu, wrap in paper towels and set something on top of it to soak the excess water, I do mine for about 20 minutes, then slice it into thin strips.

To make the dressing, put all ingredients in a bowl and mix well to dissolve the sugar.

seaweed salad big

Drain the noodles well, place in a large bowl with the drained seaweed and sliced tofu.  Poor the dressing over and mix well.  You will want to let this sit for a few hours so the dressing can soak into the noodles and tofu.

Enjoy!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

