Chili with Chorizo

DSC_0223[1]

Chili to me is kind of like spaghetti in that there are as many recipes as there are people on this planet!!  I can honestly say I’ve never used a recipe for either, I’ve always just kind of winged it.  No two are ever the same either, it honestly depends on what I have a taste for and what I have on hand.

For this chili the one thing I did know was I was going to make it in the slow cooker, for the first time.  The rest, well as I said before, I winged it.  After taking an inventory of what I had  I pulled a bunch of stuff and went from there.  Below is the recipe for this particular batch of chili, you never know what the next one will be like.

For the Recipe:

2 lbs. ground meat (I used the new york steak I ground up a couple weeks ago)

1 lb. chorizo, pork or beef

2 large onions, chopped

1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes

3 4 oz. cans of diced green chiles

1 32 oz. container beef stock (of course homemade would always be preferable)

2 1/2 c. dried beans that have been soaked overnight, I used pinto and black (yes, you could definitely use canned)

4 tbsp. ground cumin (cumin is a very strong spice, so if you don’t like it don’t use this much)

2 tbsp. salt (or to taste)

1 tbsp. ground pepper (or to taste)

1 1/2 tbsp. ground chili pepper (more if you want it spicier)

2 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp. dried thyme

If you don’t have a slow cooker (by the way I used a 7 qt.) that you can use on the stove you will need to fry the meat and onions in a pan.  I used the new york steak that I had trimmed of pretty much all fat so I did both the ground beef and chorizo at the same time.  If you are using a fattier ground beef, I would do that first so you can drain some of the fat off, then add your chorizo.  Do not drain after you fry the chorizo, you want all the red deliciousness in your chili!!  Add the onions to the meat and fry until translucent.  Now transfer the meat and the rest of the ingredients to the slow cooker and cook over low for 8 hours.  Now I have to say, I have three slow cookers and one of them is a little bit testy, so if I had used that particular one I think I would have cooked it closer to ten hours to make sure the beans were nice and tender.  Taste it to make sure you like the amount of salt, pepper, etc…

On the side I served shredded cheddar (Monterey Jack cheese would be pretty good too), diced red onion, and cilantro.  Not a big fan of sour cream on my chili but I’ve heard other people like it.  Don’t forget to have some tortilla chips available to dip.  Sometimes I like to get all Martha Stewarty and make my own by cutting up tortillas, giving them a quick spray of olive oil (from the Misto) and baking at 375 F for about 15 minutes (of course ovens vary so use this as a guide not the exact amount).

Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

