Ginger Short Rib Soup with Korean Radish

Like most everyone else, I love soups during the colder months.  Not too many of them I don’t like.  However, I do get bored with the same soups over and over.  I mean, I love chicken soup, but come on…there’s so many more things to put in a pot and call soup!!

With most soups, the ingredients can be altered to fit your tastes without hurting the end result, unlike in baking.  Maybe that’s why I struggle at baking, following a recipe is just so difficult for me.

DSC_0330[1]

For the Recipe:

4 lbs. short ribs

2 large onions, quartered

2 bay leaves

2 tbsp. minced garlic

ginger, I used about a 4 inch piece that I sliced

1 tsp. pepper

2 tsp. salt

4 c. beef stock

2 carrots, cut into chunks

2 lbs. Korean radish (you can substitute daikon)

1 bunch of cilantro, divided and chopped (half you will put into the pot and half will be used for garnish)

noodles of choice, I used bean thread this time but I also like to use ramen style (and no not Top Ramen)

DSC_0320[1]DSC_0321[1]DSC_0322[1]

Put the short ribs, onions, ginger, bay leaves, garlic, pepper, salt, and beef stock in a large heavy bottom pot.  Cook over med/low heat for about 1 1/2 hours.  Do not let this get to hard boil, you want it to be a low simmer, stirring every so often.  Next, take out the short ribs and strain the liquid to remove all the other solids.  Do not throw out this liquid, only the solids.  De-fat the liquid and put back into the pot with the short ribs (you can take the bones off the ribs if you prefer, you could even cut the meat into chunks.  Taste your broth, now is the time to “season to taste”.  Sometimes I’ll add in more ginger to really give it a ginger taste.  Add the carrots and bring back up to a simmer.  Let cook another 10 or so minutes until the carrots start to soften.  Next, add the radish, half of the bunch of chopped cilantro and let cook 15 minutes.

DSC_0329[1]

While this is cooking boil some water, or as I like to use, beef stock in a 2 quart pot.  Add the noodles you choose to use and follow their directions.  You could throw the noodles into the soup pot, but since they expand so much they tend to suck up all the broth and to me that just isn’t good…

Now to the good part… eating!!

DSC_0328[1] DSC_0327[1]

Use the other half of the chopped cilantro for garnish.  I also love raw thinly sliced mushrooms on the top, the broth is so hot it cooks the mushrooms perfectly in the bowl.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

