Chile Relleno Casserole

I made something I said I wouldn’t make, chile relleno casserole.  The thought of putting canned peppers in place of a freshly roasted poblano just made me cringe.  But since I’m always saying how people should try things they normally wouldn’t I thought I should too.  However, I knew I had to put my RHS spin on it and use fresh poblanos that I roasted myself.

This was pretty good, but it will never replace the real thing, in my opinion.  It’s definitely easier doing it this way and you do get that nice combination of flavors.  Obviously would be easier to take to a pot luck than the real thing!!

DSC_0341[1]

For the Recipe:

DSC_0337[1]

9 Poblano peppers, roasted, skinned and deseeded

1 lb. Monterey Jack cheese, grated

4 oz. cheddar cheese, grated

5 eggs

1/2 c. egg whites

1 c. milk

1/2 c. whipping cream

1/4 c. flour

1 tsp. ground pepper

1 1/2 tsp. salt

DSC_0338[1] DSC_0339[1]

Roast the peppers and remove their skins and seeds.  I roast mine on the stove, I’ve also done it on the barbeque.  When I seed them, I just make one slit down the side, remove the seeds and stem.  Set them aside.  In a bowl, mix the eggs, egg whites, flour, salt and pepper.  Spray the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish.  Lay one layer of the peppers down, then a layer of the cheese, repeat.  Pour the egg mixture over the top, then set in the refrigerator for 30 minutes before baking (could sit longer if need be).  Bake in a 350 F. oven for 25 minutes, or until the center is set.

**Note:  I like mine fairly cheesy so I used a lot of it, it would still be good with less.  I also had part of a pepper leftover after doing the second layer so I chopped it up and sprinkled it over the top.  I served it with my spiced up tomato sauce from my regular chile relleno recipe.

DSC_0340[1]

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

