Beef and Barley Soup

Cold weather = soup.  Period.  Considering snow has been slowly making it’s way up the state to me, it was the perfect day for yet another bowl.  I had some of the roast that I made when I did my little roast experiment that I didn’t want to go to waste and some vegetables so it was a no brainer to make some kind of beef soup.  Not sure why the barley popped in my head, but it did, and that’s how we ended up with the beef and barley soup.

Soups are one of those things you really don’t need a recipe, they just seem to magically turn out as long as you have some liquid, solid tasty things like meat and/or vegetables and seasonings.  That being said, here’s what I used for my soup, since I was making it to really suit the tastes of the twinadoes mine is not as brothy as some like, add/delete to suit your taste.

DSC_0470[1]

For the Recipe:

Approximately 1 pound cooked beef (you can always use raw I just had cooked that I needed to use)

7 c. beef stock

1 large onion, chopped

3 carrots, chopped

5 ribs of celery, chopped

3 roma tomatoes, skinned and chopped

1/2 c. parsley, chopped small

1 tbsp. salt

2 tsp. pepper

1 tbsp. garlic, minced

2 tsp. coriander

1/2 tsp. fennel seed, ground

1 c. barley

If you are in a hurry, you can put everything in a large pot, bring to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes, or until the barley is tender.  If you have a few extra minutes, in a large pot add a little olive oil, and onions and sauté until translucent.  Add the rest of the vegetables and seasonings, continue to sauté for another 3-5 minutes, then add the stock.  Bring to a simmer and add barley.  Cook for about 30 minutes, until the barley is tender.

**I tend to add more vegetables to soups these days since it’s one of the ways I can get the twinadoes to eat them.  If the amounts I have listed seem a bit much for you then decrease to suit your taste.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

