Easy Roast

A few years ago I had seen someone cook a roast by putting it in a hot oven for a short amount of time, then reducing the heat to very low and finishing it off.  Not sure why, but I decided I wanted to try and do this.  Now keep in mind it had been a few years since I had seen this and when I did I wasn’t exactly paying a lot of attention so I was going to kind of wing it.

DSC_0448[1]

In my freezer was a 3 1/2 pound new york roast that would be perfect for my little experiment.

DSC_0450[1]

I cut off a large piece of aluminum foil, placed the roast on top, drizzled some olive oil and seasoned the heck out of it with my house seasoning (use whatever seasoning you like to put on meat).  I enclosed the roast in a nice foil bubble (not too tight around the roast, give it a little wiggle room) and put it in a preheated 500 F degree oven, no that wasn’t a typo, 500 F for 35 minutes.  After the 35 minutes I lowered the heat to 325 F for another 1 1/2 hours.  Because I was worried about having an overcooked piece of meat on my hands I decided to check the roast.  Though it was well on it’s way to perfection, it needed more time, so I left the foil open on the top and put it back into the oven for another 20 minutes.

DSC_0451[1]DSC_0452[1]

I was very happy with the results of my little experiment.  Next time I think I will leave it enclosed in the lower heat for a little longer, but definitely give it some time in the oven uncovered to brown up the top.

DSC_0453[1]

I used this roast for sandwiches by slicing it thin and letting it rest in its own juices.

WP_20140206_004(bad picture, but regular camera battery died, used cell phone…)

DSC_0455[1]DSC_0457[1] DSC_0454[1]

Then I layered swiss cheese and onions and red peppers that I caramelized on top of a toasted hoagie roll.

DSC_0459[1]

To melt the cheese I put it in the oven for about 5 minutes.  Delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

