Corn Chowder

For the past few days I’ve been craving some corn chowder, like really craving, so today I decided to finally make some.  Normally when I make soup I start with an idea and just go with it, no recipe.  One of the most difficult parts of this blog is writing the recipes.

Asking around about what other people put in their corn chowders, cheddar cheese kept popping up.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some cheddar cheese, but it just didn’t sound appealing in a corn chowder.  When I started I had the mindset that there would be no cheese at all, but I changed my mind late in the game.  I hope you try and enjoy what I came up with.

DSC_0496[1]

The Recipe:

5 slices of bacon, cut into strips

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1/2 of one large red pepper, chopped

4 c. chicken stock

4 potatoes, cubed

1 tbsp. salt

2 tsp. pepper

1 tbsp. garlic powder (you can definitely use fresh, just add with the red pepper)

3 c. corn kernels (I used frozen that I defrosted)

1/4 c. flour

1/2 c. half-n-half (can substitute milk)

3/4 c. heavy cream or half-n-half

4 oz. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded

In a heavy bottom pot start frying the bacon strips, about 5 minutes over medium heat.  Add the olive oil and the onions, stir well.  When the onions become translucent add the red pepper, cook another 5 minutes.  Add the chicken broth, potatoes and seasonings.  Let cook until your potatoes start to get tender.  Add the corn, let cook another 5 or so minutes.  While this is cooking, in a small bowl mix (very well) the flour and 1/2 c. half-n-half, add to the pot, mixing well.  It should start to thicken.  Next add the cream and the cheese.  Mix well.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

