Meyer Lemon Scones

Meyer lemons are high on my list of things I love, so much so I’ve got three trees growing in my indoor room.  When Meyer lemon season starts I do a little happy dance in my head while wearing a grin from ear to ear.  Yes, I love some Meyer lemons.

Since today is Valentine’s Day I was going to shape the scones into heart shapes, but then settled on a more rustic look, which I like.  These were fairly easy and man oh man did my kitchen smell nice and lemony.

DSC_0503[1]

For the recipe:

3 c. all purpose flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

3/4 c.  sugar

2 tbsp. lemon zest

3/4 c. cold butter, cubed

3/4 c. cold heavy cream

1 cold egg

seeds from 2 vanilla beans

DSC_0497[1]

In a food processor add the flour, baking powder, sugar, lemon zest and butter.  Pulse until it comes together in what looks like small peas.

DSC_0499[1]DSC_0498[1]

In a small bowl, mix together the cream, egg, and vanilla bean seeds.  Pour the flour mixture into a bowl, using a wooden spoon add in the cream, egg and vanilla bean seeds.  Mix until it forms a crumbly dough.  For the next part I like to run my hands under cold water so they are not so warm.  Pour the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and shape into a rectangle/square about 3/4- 1 inch thick.

DSC_0500[1] DSC_0501[1]

You can either just cut the dough into eight pieces or you can get all fancy and cut out round shapes.  I chose the former.  Place the scones on a lined baking sheet and put in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.  Preheat oven to 350 F.

DSC_0502[1]

Once the scones have chilled cook in the oven for 13-15 minutes, or until just starting to brown.  Cool completely on a cooling rack before glazing.

Meyer Lemon Glaze:

3 c. powdered sugar

1/2 c. Meyer lemon juice

Put the powdered sugar into a large mixing bowl.  Slowly add the lemon juice in increments.  You might not need all of it, so stop when the glaze can be poured over the scones and drip down the sides.  If you add too much juice just add more sugar.

 

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

