Lengua Tacos

Have you ever seen the taco trucks that are in parking lots and other random areas?  If you have I hope you are not passing by them, they offer some seriously delicious food for not a lot of money.  One offering that is one of my family’s favorite is the lengua taco, aka a tongue taco.  Before you get all freaked out about eating beef tongue you really need to give it a try.  The majority of the people that I’ve fed it to have said that it’s one of the most tender and tasty pieces of meat they’ve ever had.

Beef tongue has been on my menu since before I can even remember, it was one of the dishes my dad made.  He pretty much stayed with the same way every time, where I’ve branched out, not that there is anything wrong with the way he made it…it’s still my favorite way.

DSC_0686[1]

The cooking of the tongue can take a while if you do not use a pressure cooker, three hours compared to about 35 minutes.  Even with the time factor I chose to do it on the stove top.

DSC_0677[1]

Nothing too hard about cooking it, I just put it in a Dutch oven with some bay leaves, onions, garlic, salt and pepper and covered with water.  Doesn’t need to really be watched, unlike my pressure cooker that I have to adjust the temperature to keep it on the line.

For the Recipe:

1 beef tongue, rinsed

2 onions, quartered

3 bay leaves

4 garlic cloves, peeled

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tbsp. salt

2 tsp. peppercorns

In a large pot, I used my Dutch oven, add all ingredients and enough water to almost cover.  Cook over medium heat for about 3 hours, or until the tongue is tender.  Once the tongue is cool enough for you to handle you need to peel the outer skin, this is not pleasant to eat.  Cut into small pieces and it’s ready for your tacos.

DSC_0683[1]

I like to make a little cabbage slaw type dish to go on top.  It’s super easy and really good.

1/4 head of cabbage, cut into very small pieces

1/4 of an onion, diced

3 radishes, diced

1 jalapeno, seeded and diced (if you want spicier, add more)

juice of 1/2 a lime

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground pepper

Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix.  I like to let this sit a bit before serving so the lime juice has time to settle in to all the vegetables.

Garnish:

diced tomatoes

sliced avocados

 

Leave a Reply

