Planting Lemon Seeds

The other day I read something about growing different vegetables/fruits that you purchased, such as green onions, celery, ginger and a few others.  The one that piqued my interest the most was about growing lemons from seed.  My Meyer lemon trees were quite generous this year in the fruit they produced so I thought why not try using seeds from one of them.  And that’s what I did.

DSC_0780[1]

I already had a few lemons that I picked a few days earlier, not sure if it’s going to make a difference that they were not fresh picked.

DSC_0781[1]I picked this nice bight yellow container for obvious reason…

DSC_0782[1]The article I read said to put the seeds in your mouth and suck on them until all flesh was removed from the seed.  Um…no.  Instead I rinsed them under water while using my fingers to remove anything from the seed.

DSC_0783[1]Next, I watered the soil in the container then planted the seeds about 1/2 an inch and covered with some soil.  One point they made several times was to not let the seeds dry out at any time as that could stop the sprouting.

DSC_0784[1]I finished it off by placing the container in a little dish, then covering with plastic wrap that I poked a few holes in with a toothpick.  I’ll put them upstairs with the other seedlings since it’s nice and warm, another tip they gave, keep them warm.

Nobody could really give a good germination time, it ranged from 1 week to 2 months, I’m guessing it depends on how warm they are kept.  So now I’ll try and be patient and see what happens.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

