Seafood Tom Kha

DSC_0843[1]

Tom Kha is truly one of my favorite soups.  There’s just something about it that is so addictive, I could honestly eat it every other day.  Just up the hill is a great Thai restaurant that we get food from all the time, but even so, I really enjoy making the soup at home.

I’ve tried a few different recipes but none seemed quite what I was looking for.  So in usual Real Housewife style I adjusted a few recipes to come up with exactly what I wanted.  There’s only a handful of ingredients, but some of them can be difficult to find.  Even with all the Asian stores around I had a little trouble getting my hands on some galangal.  I’ve made it substituting ginger for the galangal but it’s not the same.  It’s good, doesn’t give it that taste that makes tom kha so delicious.

As usual, the recipe I’m sharing is one I’ve adjusted to suit my family’s tastes so feel free to adjust to fit yours.  I really like the mushrooms in the soup so I add more than any recipe I’ve ever seen calls for.  I also like a lot of seafood, even when I order it from the restaurant I ask for extra seafood.  Seafood not your thing?  No problem, it’s incredibly delicious with chicken or even tofu.  Make the recipe suit your taste.

DSC_0646[1]This is what galangal looks like.

For the Recipe:

2 c. chicken stock

10 slices galangal (about the size of a quarter and about 1/4″ thick)

2 stalks lemongrass, use only the bottom half, give them a good whack to bruise and cut into one 1 1/2″ chunks

6 kefir lime leaves

1-2 Thai chilies, seeded.  I use one, but I don’t like it super spicy

2 c. coconut milk

1 tsp. sugar

1 1/2 tbsp. fish sauce, taste after one tablespoon to see if you need the extra 1/2 tbsp.

1 lb. mixed seafood (I usually just use a bag of mixed seafood)

4 mushrooms, cut into bite size chunks

2-2 1/2 tbsp. lime juice

1/2 c. roughly chopped cilantro

In a medium size pot add the chicken stock, galangal, lemongrass, lime leaves and Thai chili, bring to a simmer and let cook for about ten minutes.  Next, add the coconut milk, sugar and fish sauce, cook another 5 or so minutes.  Taste, add extra sugar or fish sauce, if needed.  Put in the seafood, cook for 5-7 minutes then add the mushrooms and cilantro.  Cook until the seafood is done, about 5 minutes.

When I serve I like to take out the galangal, lemongrass and lime leaves from the individual bowls, but of course it’s totally up to you.  When I order from the restaurants they tend to leave it in, however, I think it’s to make the bowl seem a little more full…

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

