Chicken Salad Lettuce Bowls

Yesterday I bought two rotisserie chickens from Costco, for $4.99 you can’t go wrong, using part of one for dinner.  Then I decided to use the other one to see how many realistic meals I could get out of one chicken.  I follow several blogs that give suggestions on how to save money and several have written about using one whole chicken for several meals.  Pretty much four seemed to be the magic number, but a little unrealistic to me.  Maybe I feed my family too much…  However, that being said, three was my magic number and included this chicken salad.  Super simple and really delicious, but it seemed better suited for a lunch than a dinner. This is definitely one of those recipes that you can totally change up to better suit your own personal taste.  If you don’t like pine nuts or want to use a little more of a budget friendly nut use walnuts or pecans.  No grapes on hand?  Maybe use mandarin oranges or apples.  Some fresh parsley would be tasty as well. DSC_0859[1]

For the Recipe:

1 chicken breast, cooked and chopped into smaller bite sized pieces

1/2 c. grapes, cut into quarters

2 tbsp. pine nuts, toasted

1/4 c. celery, chopped small

1/4 c. red onions, chopped small

1/2 c. mayonnaise

2 tsp. Dijon mustard

2 tsp. seasoning salt, I used my Simply Sensational Seasoning Salt)

16 butter lettuce leaves

Put all ingredients, except the lettuce, into a bowl and mix.  Arrange four lettuce leaves either on a plate or bowl and place 1/4 of the salad in the center.  Repeat 3 more times. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

