Farmer’s Market Bounty

I absolutely adore going to farmer’s markets.  Thankfully, we have several within 30 minutes or less from my house on different days of the week, which is nice so if you can’t make it to one there is another.  After yesterday’s trip I started to think about whether or not I could feed my family from my garden and what I purchased at farmer’s markets alone.  My answer is yes.  Possibly, I would have to visit more than one a week to get everything, meat, dairy, and vegetables, but it could be done.

As for my trip yesterday, I went to a market that I have never gone to before, the Lake Forest Park market.  It was small but had a good variety of goods, even for this early in the season.  If I were using this as my weekly shopping trip for food I would be set, they had everything, dairy (eggs, cheese, milk), meat (lamb, beef, chicken, pork) and of course vegetables.  Most everything is either organic or grown without pesticides, the meat is grass fed and free range and the dairy came from “happy cows and chickens”.  I’m liking the idea of only shopping markets for the summer more and more…

This weekend I picked up some lovely items…

DSC_1226[1]

Squash blossoms!!  How gorgeous are these?  These get snatched up quickly so when I find them I get a little excited.  So many options for them, fried, soup, in a frittata, and so much more…  The one bad thing about them, they do not keep for long so plant on using them fairly quick if you pick some up.

DSC_1228[1]

Since I already have a lot of vegetables I didn’t pick up too many.  But I thought I would try to make some beet chips, the radishes are for Thing 2 and also to go in my simple arugula salad (also bought at the market) that will go with the fried blossoms.  The strawberries Thing 2 saw and had to have, she ate half the carton while we walked the market.

DSC_1229[1]How beautiful are these?  I love the flowers at the market!!  In fact, when we did the reception for our wedding all the flowers came from a farmer’s market, and I loved it.

DSC_1227[1]

I picked up some of this pasta last weekend at the Redmond market, and let me tell you it’s delicious.  Last week I picked up some duck ravioli and wild boar ravioli.  This week the score was the squid ink pasta.  And the guy that sells the stuff…he’s the type of person that you just want to hug.  Of course his Italian accent helps this along… just so adorable!!

As the weather continues to warm there will be more offerings at the markets, but for now I’m quite happy with what they have.  Anyone else visit a farmer’s market last week?

 

Leave a Reply

