Adventures in Urban Living

Recently the decision was made to sell our home and move closer to where my husband works.  Though it’s a hard decision for me, I know it’s best.  He will be  home more with less time spent in the car commuting to work and back, less stress on him wondering if he will make it on time or not, and we will be closer to more things we like.  Moving is not something I enjoy, I’m a creature of habit and really do not do well with change, in fact, change stresses me out!!  So for this I am trying to keep positive, focus on the benefits of moving and keep a calm demeanor amidst the chaos.

While we sell our home and find a new one we will be residing in an apartment about the quarter of the size of our home.  On a positive note (gotta keep seeing the positive…) we are within walking distance of grocery stores, restaurants, parks, and the hubs has a ten minute commute.  The thought of keeping the house clean for showings when I live with the two most feral jackals, aka the twinadoes, just does not excite me, so having them out of there once it’s all clean and show ready makes sense.

As the reality sets in and I must make decisions about all my possessions, keep, store, or get rid of, I can tell I’m getting a little wackadoodle.  It’s so hard to dismantle my home and face the reality that this will someday (hopefully sooner rather than later) become someone else’s home.  My beloved garden will no longer be mine, and maybe the next owner won’t be a gardener and take it all down, those are thoughts I really shouldn’t think about.

What I need to think about right now is adjusting my little twinadoes to urban living and their new environment.  So far Thing 1 has loved this adventure, he loves looking out the window and seeing all the cars, ambulances, fire trucks, bubbatrees (aka front loaders and the like), people and having a doughnut every morning at the place right outside the building.  Thing 2, though she does have fun here, gets a little sad when we leave the old house, her adjustment has been a little slower.  She still asks if we are going back to our real home, and sometimes that makes me a little sad.  But she’s coming around to this new abode.  And in time she probably won’t even remember her first home, the home she spent the first three and a half years of her life.  <sigh>

Once my home is empty and everything removed and put in it’s place I think a big portion of stress will be gone.  There will be no more need to visit the home every day to pack, I can focus on my current surroundings and enjoying urban living.  People have asked where we will buy our next home, and quite honestly I don’t know.  Doubtful it will be within walking distance of everything we have now so I’m trying to enjoy this luxury while we have it.  I’m taking everything one step at a time, what’s that saying, something like don’t put the cart before the bull… not even sure if that’s an appropriate saying for this.  All I know is I need to pack up the house, get it sold then think about where we will end up.  Having a place to live during all this truly does help, we are not having to hurry and find somewhere to live which could possi8bly lead to making a decision we won’t be happy with down the road.

So as I sit before my list of “things to do”, “things to bring to the apartment”, and “things to get rid of” I’m looking like a woman with a plan and knows what she’s doing, but inside I’m feeling like a woman that’s trying to keep her sanity during a major life change while paddling upstream towing a tanker…

 

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Urban Living

  1. Sara, although I love your husband like a brother, he obviously tells me nothing. So this is the first I’ve heard of what you’re going through. As an Army brat, I know those feelings. And they WILL remember the first house. I remember the house I lived in when I was 2-3 years old, fondly, forever. My kudos to you for handling this without a complete meltdown. Very hard. :/

Leave a Reply

