Peach Crisp

Crisp, buckle, cobbler, crumble and whatever else fall in that category, they have never been my thing, heck, I really don’t even know the difference of most of them.  Something about cooked fruit just never appealed to me but the crispy toppings did.  When I would go to a potluck or somewhere someone had made one I would try it, inevitably eating the top and tossing the goopy fruit on the bottom.  So why in the world did I think it was a good idea to make a peach crisp?  Pretty much I had about eight peaches that needed to be used up, and quick, so it just made sense.  Boy am I glad I came up with that idea, not only did I use up five of the peaches but I also ended up with one heck of a tasty dessert.

My issue with some of the desserts using fruit was their texture.  I know that when you cook fruit it gets soft, but I thought, what if I put something in there to give it a little texture other than goopy.  If you are not a fan of the topping this is definitely not the one for you.  I use probably twice the amount of most recipes and I also add walnuts for a little extra crunch.

WP_20140714_19_51_38_Pro

For the Recipe:

4 c. peaches, cut into chunks

8 tbsp. (1 stick) butter cut into chunks

1 c. flour

3/4 c. oats

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg (fresh grated if possible)

1/4 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 – 3/4 c. walnuts, chopped (if you are a nut fan like myself use the higher amount)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Put the cut peaches in a baking dish.  Mix the rest of the ingredients, except for the walnuts, in another bowl until it’s a nice crumbly texture.  Add half of this mixture to the peaches and mix.  Now add the walnuts to the dry ingredients and mix.  Sprinkle this on top of the peach mixture.

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until the top is a nice golden brown.  Not like I really need to mention, but serve this with some vanilla ice cream.

 

Leave a Reply

