Lessons From Moving

I am completely out of my old house, have been for a few weeks.  However, there was still stuff left that I was trying to go through and decide what would be it’s fate.  If I were moving directly from one home to another this would have been a quick move.  I would have simply had the movers pack up the entire house and dealt with all of this at the new house.  Unfortunately, that was not the case so that luxury was not an option.  I had the movers take what I knew for sure was going to be kept, leaving the rest behind for me to painstakingly go through.

In the beginning I was so overwhelmed, all I could think about was how the heck was I going to be able to fit this into an apartment.  Well folks, that quickly turned to “how much stuff can I stuff in my car to take to Goodwill”.  Luckily for me, enter Boss Up.  He has been a complete life saver.  Which leads to my first lesson learned…

When it’s time to move the hands do not get raised en mass screaming “I’ll help”.  What I did hear a lot of was “can I have this”, “are you getting rid of (insert list of items here)” or one of my favorites “this would look great at my house”.  I totally get people are busy, but this was just one of those things I noticed…

Another lesson, when you need to find people like carpet cleaners, painters, etc.. ask your friends!!  All the people I’m using came recommended by people, saved me so much time and frustration.  I’ve used people that I randomly picked from the internet and have had mixed results.  Grateful doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel for this help I received.

Next lesson, set a time frame but don’t freak out if you don’t stick exactly to it.  Things happen, that’s part of life.  The past few weeks I’ve been extremely stressed, lost a lot of sleep and gained quite a few gray hairs.  It’s not easy packing up a large house by yourself, even after the movers.  It’s just not.  There were many days I thought I was going to snap and just say “f*ck it, I’m outta here” but I didn’t.  Give yourself a break and don’t let yourself get too worked up, it will eventually end and it will get done.  Again, thanks so much to Boss Up.

Lastly, moving really brings out your real friends.  Seems strange, but what I experienced was a wide range of interactions.  Some “friends’ wanted to know “the truth”, was I losing the house, why would I move after adding the outdoor kitchen.  Well, for my now smaller inner circle, “the truth” is known, the others, well as said in a song I heard “keep em’ guessin”.

About two weeks ago I wrote a post that I chose not to publish, rather, I sat on it and reread it a week later.  That post will never be published, it is full of negativity and just expresses me during one of my “I’m about to snap” moments.  I will keep that post for me, it’s something to reflect on and use to grow.  Hopefully those darker moments are over and I’m on the other side.  It does feel wonderful to be on the homestretch to getting that “For Sale” sign in the front yard.  In all honesty I’m looking forward to writing more about the hunt for a new home and getting back to my posts on cooking, the twinadoes, gardening and life in suburbia.

One thought on “Lessons From Moving

  1. Glad things are okay. For the record, I didn’t even know you were moving until you already had, so I didn’t have an opportunity to offer help 🙂 That was a tremendous amount of work and stress for you, though, so hooray on getting through it!

Leave a Reply

