Homemade Tortillas

DSC_1336[1]

Growing up we never had store bought tortillas, they were always homemade by my mother.  When you are a kid you don’t realize how lucky you are to have something like that, it’s just the norm.  Then I grew up and I didn’t have someone making tortillas for me, rather, I purchased them at the store.  I cannot count the number of times I watched my mother make the tortillas not thinking anything of it.  It never even entered my mind to write down a recipe or take any kind of mental note, so instead I played around with some recipes I found online, adjusting them to what little I did remember from all those years of watching.

This recipe is incredibly easy and gives wonderful results.  Unlike my mother, I use a tortilla press, I just how much quicker it is over rolling them.  At least for me…

 

For the Recipe”

1 3/4 c. flour

1 tsp. kosher salt

5 tbsp. shortening

3/4 c. very warm water

In a bowl mix the flour and salt.  Put in the shortening, cut into 5 pieces, and mix either with your hand or a pastry cutter.  You want the shortening to get distributed well.

DSC_1330[1]

Add the water and mix until it forms a nice ball.  Do not over mix.

DSC_1331[1]

Place on a lightly floured surface and form into a log, cut into 12 equal pieces.  Use your hands and roll into little balls, cover the pieces and let sit for 15 or so minutes.

DSC_1332[1] DSC_1333[1] DSC_1334[1]

Next, either use a tortilla press, which is what I use, or use a rolling pin to make them into 6 inch circles (or there about).  I use two pieces of plastic to cover the plates of the press, it makes for easy removal and cleaning.

DSC_1335[1]

Cook on a hot pan until each side gets nice brown marks.  Place cooked tortillas on a plate and cover with aluminum foil to keep moist.  These will keep for several days if stored in an air tight container.

Leave a Reply

