Homemade Beef Stock

You know when you read a recipe and it calls for some type of stock and it says to use homemade if possible, well there’s a reason for that.  Homemade is without a doubt so much better than even the best store bought stocks.  They of course will work in a pinch, I’ve used them myself, however, I do predominantly use homemade.  It’s very little work for a lot of return, which to me is a good thing.  Basically, you throw some bones, meat, vegetables, herbs and spices in a big pot with some water and cook if for a long time.  That’s it…  Well, I guess I should also add that sometimes I do like to roast the bones first and then simmer them, it will add a richer flavor, but if you choose not to do this you will still get some amazing stock.  I will even use the carcass of a rotisserie chicken I’ve bought at Costco.

Today both twinadoes are coming down with colds and are really in no mood to do a lot of running around so it’s a stay at home kind of day.  This morning I went out and bought some beef bones to make some stock, I might as well be productive while I’m laying around with the sickos.  Later I will do some pork stock for my ramen noodle soup, that recipe will come a little later…

I use a 20 quart stock pot so you might need to adjust the amounts to suit the size of pot you are using.

For the Recipe:

8 lbs. beef bones (I use both the marrow bones as well as the knuckles.

3 onions, quartered

5 carrots, cut into thirds

5 celery stalks, cut into thirds

1/2 bunch of parsley

10 garlic cloves

4 bay leaves

1 1/2 tbsp. peppercorns

2 sprigs of thyme (or a couple teaspoons dried)

2 tsp. coriander seeds

2 tsp. fennel seeds

2 tsp. mustard seeds

1 tsp. cumin seeds

1 tbsp. salt

enough water to cover all the ingredients

Heat oven 400 degrees F.

DSC_1527[1]

In a roasting pan place half of the bones, season with salt and pepper, half of the carrots, half of the onions, and half of the garlic.  Roast for 60 minutes.

DSC_1526[2] DSC_1525[3]

In a large stock pot place the remaining ingredients and cover with water and cook over low.

DSC_1528[1] DSC_1529[1]

Once the bones have roasted for an hour add everything to the stock pot then deglaze the pan with water (you could also use red wine if you wanted) and add that to the stock pot.  Bring to a slow boil and cook for 4 hours.

When the stock is done strain and discard all the solids.  Skim off any of the froth and de-fat.  If you are not using it right away you can freeze if for a few months to use at a later date.

Enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

