Gluten-Free Pizza

DSC_1540[1]

We are not a gluten-free family, but this pizza dough is.  I have a large bag of chickpea flour (Besan if you look for it in the Indian stores which is where I buy mine) that I want to start using for other than just the few recipes I currently have.  When I did a search for recipes I was amazed at everything that came up.  There were so many that it was almost overwhelming, so to make it more manageable I scoured them for about an hour then made a list of about 10 or so that I thought would work for my family.  Pizza was definitely one of them.

Never using chickpea flour for a dough of this manner I wasn’t really sure how it would turn out.  I was pleasantly surprised with the results.  You won’t be confusing this with “real” pizza dough, but it’s good nonetheless.

For the Recipe:

1/2 c. milk

1/4 c. water

2 1/4 tsp. yeast

2 tsp. sugar

3/4 c. rice flour

2 c. chickpea flour

2 tsp. salt

2 tbsp. powdered milk

2 tbsp. olive oil

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Heat the milk and water to about 110 -115 degrees, you don’t want any hotter or you will kill the yeast.  In a bowl (you can use a mixer for all the work like I did…) put the warm liquid, yeast and sugar, gently mix.  Let sit for about 5 minutes, the mixture should get bubbly and look “alive”.  If it doesn’t then your yeast isn’t doing it’s thing and you will need to try again.

Next add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl, mix well.  The dough will not be like normal dough, it will be a little more sticky/tacky and that is totally fine.  I chose not to use all the other ingredients that help with this simply because I didn’t have them on hand.

Now would be a good time to put your pizza stone in the oven, if you don’t have one you can use a baking sheet (that’s what I used since my pizza stone is in storage).  If you use a baking sheet you don’t need to heat up as long.

Now to deal with the dough… this stuff will stick to your bare hands so put a little olive oil on them to prevent this.  Divide the dough into two equal pieces.

DSC_1535[1]

Place each piece on a 12″ (or so) piece of parchment paper.  On top of that place some plastic wrap, then roll out the dough to about 1/8 – 1/4″ thick.  I prefer thinner, but the thicker one wasn’t bad.  Loosely cover the rolled out dough and let rise for about 20 minutes.

DSC_1536[1]

To bake, lightly brush olive oil on the rolled out dough, then carefully place one in the oven on the stone/sheet.  Let cook for about 10 minutes, or until the edges start to turn a little golden.

DSC_1538[1] DSC_1539[1]DSC_1542[1]

Next, top with your desired toppings and pop back in the oven until cheese is melted.  You could also place it under the broiler, especially if you are using pepperoni, to give it that browning that many like.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

