Breakfast Cups

DSC_1565[1]

These bacon and egg cups have been something I’ve wanted to make for a while.  They kind of remind me of breakfast muffins without all the bread, and they kind of are.  Also, I wanted to do ones that had scrambled eggs and ones with an egg just dropped right in the cup.  This was my first try at these, and though I consider it a success there are a few things I will do differently next time.  For now, here’s the recipe for these.

For the Recipe:

6 tbsp. frozen hashbrowns (no need to be exact)

6 slices of bacon, trimmed to fit your muffin tin (you could always use 5 and just patchwork the cut off pieces for the 6th cup)

6 eggs

6 tbsp. cheese, grated with the small side of the grater

1 tbsp. milk

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

I made 6 of these cups, in case you didn’t get that from the measurements so you can adjust accordingly if you want to make more.

DSC_1564[1] DSC_1563[1]

Using a muffin tin, line the cups with the strips of bacon.  I trimmed them so they didn’t overlap.  Drop a tablespoon of the hashbrowns in the bottom of each cup (I roughly measured, it was more like I just grabbed about 1 tablespoon).  Put in the oven and let cook for about 7 minutes so the bacon and hashbrowns have time to cook a bit.  Lower the heat to 400 degrees.  Mix together 3 eggs, 3 tbsp. grated cheese, milk and salt and pepper.  Poor equal amounts into 3 of the cups.  For the other three cups crack an egg into each, top with some salt, pepper and cheese.  Place in the oven for 15-20 minutes.

DSC_1566[1]

I cooked mine until the mixed eggs were nice and fluffy and the single eggs were set but yolk still a bit runny.  Of course you can choose to cook longer if you do not like a runny yolk.

As I said earlier I would do a few things differently next time.  For one, I would add green onion as well as a little more seasonings, like garlic and fennel powder.  Other than that, these are pretty darn tasty, in my opinion.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

