Torizza!!

10257203_368478163318077_8621595271266975265_o

Last week I was thinking about the St. Louis style pizza I had made last year and why the heck haven’t I made it again.  It’s so delicious with it’s crispy almost cracker like crust.  Then it hit me, why not try that with a tortilla?  When I was a kid my mom always made fresh tortillas, I didn’t have the packaged ones until I was an adult.  One of my favorite ways to eat her tortillas was to pop them in the toaster oven and get them all nice and crisp.  So with that memory I thought “how great would that be as a nice crispy pizza crust”.  My first try did not produce the crispiness I was hoping for, but the second try did.  The trick was crisping up the tortilla before you add the toppings.

These are super simple and quick to make, and when you cut them up they are an easy finger food for a casual party.

For the Recipe:

tortillas

olive oil

pizza toppings

How great is that list of ingredients?  I’m grinning about that one…  Anyhoo….

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Place two tortillas on a baking sheet.  Next you need to apply a little bit of olive oil to each tortilla, I used a Misto but you could easily use a pastry brush, or drizzle and use the back of a spoon to coat.  Pop them in the oven and let them brown up a bit, turn over once one side gets lightly browned.  You might bet bubbles in the tortilla, simply poke them to release the air.  This usually take around 5 minutes total, but make sure to watch them.  Next, take them out of the oven and top with your favorite toppings.  Remember that these are very thin so you don’t want to overwhelm them with toppings.  Place back in the oven to melt the cheese or you could put under the broiler to melt the cheese and get those browned spots.  Whichever way you choose, be sure to keep an eye on them, this doesn’t take long, only a few minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

