Halloween Cupcakes

DSC_1609[1] DSC_1611[2]

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays.  It’s like once October hits the holidays start, and the giddy Real Housewife comes out.  This year we are in the apartment so I won’t go all crazy with the decorations so I guess I’ll make up for it with baking.  These cupcakes were actually a lot of fun to make, yes the webs are a tad tedious but it’s like therapy to me.

DSC_1602[1]

The spider webs are the most time consuming part of the cupcakes.  To make them I melted some white chocolate, put it in a plastic bag (I didn’t have any pastry bags), you could also use one of those small squeeze bottles, then make the webs on parchment paper.  If you are not comfortable doing them free hand you can use this easy template.  For free hand make them 2 1/2″ in diameter for the average cupcake.

DSC_1606[1]DSC_1607[1]DSC_1608[1]

To make the little spiders I melted some chocolate.  Then using a little bad I put a small dot a little smaller than a pea (not those big English ones…) on a sheet of parchment paper.  After letting it cool slightly I used the little stick like sprinkles as legs.  Let them harden and voila, you have little spiders.

For the Frosting:

1/2 c. butter, room temperature

3/4 c. cocoa powder

3 c. powdered sugar

1/3 c. milk

1 tsp. vanilla

In a stand mixer cream the butter and cocoa powder.  Slowly add the powdered sugar and milk, alternating between the two until you have completely added them.  Lastly, add the vanilla.  Give it a good whip after all ingredients have been added to make sure it’s nice and fluffy.  To frost the cupcakes, I again used a bag and used a spiraling motion starting on the outer edge of the cupcake.  You can of course choose whatever method you prefer.

The cupcakes were chocolate, I used this recipe, but you could use your favorite one.

DSC_1613[1]

Some of the cupcakes I simply sprinkled sprinkles to make them festive.  There are so many varieties you can use, little candy bones, skeletons and of course just the sugar sprinkles.  I used the this set for these cupcakes.

 

Leave a Reply

