Meal Planning

I’ve mentioned before that I am not a meal planner.  Grocery list?  What’s that?  Sure I’ll jot down a few items on a piece of paper so I don’t forget while at the store throwing in stuff I probably don’t need.  When the refrigerator starts looking empty, the freezer has nothing good, and the pantry (now a closet) lacks some of my go to items I head to the store and just start tossing stuff that looks good into my cart.  Not very efficient, but that’s just how I roll.  This week that is changing, no really it is.  After going to a few stores this week and ending up with tons of food with no real plan of attack for using them combined with my annoyance of throwing out some beautiful lamb shanks last night after they went bad I’m ready to try some kind of order to this madness.

Here’s my plan, I’m going to take stock in all the meat I have in both the freezer and refrigerator.  Then I’ll do the same with the vegetables and other food items that can be used.  Then there will be the straggler items like the tofu, wonton wrappers etc… that are also in there that will hopefully give me some inspiration.  Just for fun I might take a picture of some of the food, post it to the RHOS Facebook page and see if anyone can give me some ideas.

Next up, my brainstorming phase.  I’ll get out some paper and a pen and jot down my ideas so I don’t forget them.  Each meal will have a list of ingredients needed, if by chance there is something that needs to be purchased I’ll make a separate list (aka a grocery list).  So I actually have the needed items when I make each meal I’ll keep all the ingredients for that meal together.  Maybe I’m crazy, but I think this sounds brilliant.

The end goal is to have a cleared out fridge but not from tossing everything out.  My family wastes way too much food and it’s really beginning to bother me.  Yes, I know I should have been on this bandwagon a long time ago but it honestly never worked.  I probably still won’t be a grocery list making, weekly meal planning, slow cooker using, ten dollar meal making kind of gal, but at least I won’t be wasting as much food as I have in the past.

My progress and success or (and I hope this isn’t the case) failure will definitely be shared.

Leave a Reply

