And Then He Turned Four

Four years ago I met my little boy

So tiny and fragile, he brought so much joy

When I first saw you I couldn’t believe

This child of mine looked nothing like me!

These days you are wild and sometimes quite gross

Burping and farting and picking your nose

My constant companion, always by my side

Your spot on my lap you won’t be denied

Bubbatrees and trucks there is never enough

Your expanding collection you love so much

So sensitive and sweet but oh what a temper

He will give you a what for that you will always remember

I love you my little Oliver, my little butternut squash

Your soft little hands and our early morning talks

So thankful am I for the title of your mother

It was given to me, only me, and no other

Leave a Reply

