Easy Peasy Gravy

WP_20150105_11_23_00_Pro

Gravy seems to be one of those mystical things that you either do well or you don’t.  I’ve had way too many from people that are the latter, but kudos to them for trying.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my fair share of gravy fails, but I’ve gotten pretty good.  When I make a roast meat I will use the pan drippings as the main source of flavor for gravy, but when I want just a quick gravy I do this little trick.  Better Than Bouillon has got to be one of the greatest inventions, seriously.  I use it for so many things, quick gravy is just one of them.  I’ve served it a zillion times and it always gets thumbs up from my guests, and even more “really, that’s how you made it”.

For the Recipe:

2 tbsp. butter

1 shallot, minced

8 oz. mushrooms, chopped small (optional)

2 tbsp. Better Than Boullion

3 c. water

salt and pepper to taste (add in small increments and taste)

2 tbsp. shaoxing cooking wine or red wine (optional)

1 tbsp. flour or cornstarch

In a saucepan heat the butter, then add the shallots and cook until translucent.  Mix in the Better Than Boullion, it will just melt and blend with the butter.  Next, slowly add the water and bring to a heavy simmer.  Let the gravy cook and reduce just a bit, taste and add salt and pepper if needed.  Now time to add the flour/cornstarch, don’t just dump it in or you will get clumps.  I do this one of two ways, just depends on my mood.  The first way is to use a small sifter/strainer and sprinkle it over the simmering liquid while you whisk.  The second way is to dissolve the flour/cornstarch in a little water to make a slurry and pour that in while stirring.  If you choose to use the wine you could substitute that for the water.  You want to bring it back to a simmer and let it cook for a minute or two to get rid of the raw flour taste.

That’s it, easy peasy.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

