Peking Spam Bao

WP_20150219_06_08_47_Pro

You read that correctly, Spam…  I don’t know what my new found obsession with the stuff is exactly about, all I know is I have about six more cans to experiment with.  I know Spam comes in all kinds of flavors, but I’m not a huge fan of pre-flavored food.  When people pick up the meat that already has a marinade on it in the meat department I cringe.

How did I come up with the idea of Peking Spam you might wonder, well I’m wondering the same thing.  I was going through my spices and front and center was my five spice.  Then the thought of Peking duck popped in my head, but since I didn’t have a duck handy and I did have some Spam, well….

For the Recipe:

1 can low sodium Spam

1 tbsp. brown sugar

1 tbsp. honey

1 tbsp.five spice

2 tsp. hoisin sauce

1/2 tsp. sesame oil

1 tbsp. water

Slice the Spam a little more than 1/4 inch thick.  Mix the rest of the ingredients in a bowl.  Dip each piece of Spam into the mixture then place in a bag (or you could use a container), cover with the remaining mixture.

WP_20150218_19_14_49_Pro

Let sit for at least 8 hours, but overnight is preferred.

Since there is such a high content of sugar in the marinade you cannot just fry up the Spam, you need to do a sort of braise.  In a pan you will want to add a little water and some of the marinating sauce, I did 1 tablespoon water to every teaspoon of marinade.  You will want to do enough of this liquid to make sure the Spam sits in it.  I did a pan large enough to do three slices, for this I did 1 tablespoon water and 1 teaspoon marinade, so you get an idea.  Cook over medium low heat, turning after three minutes (adjust time according to your stovetop).

WP_20150219_06_04_35_Pro

The liquid should evaporate letting the Spam cook in the dry pan for about a minute on each side, but be careful, they will burn easily if you have the heat too high or you leave them on the dry pan for too long.

I served mine with my favorite Momofuku buns and julienned cucumbers and green onions.

Leave a Reply

