Garden Glimpse….

This morning started out so darn gloomy I was thinking there was no way it was going to get sunny and warm, guess I was wrong.  It was a fabulous day, not too hot, perfect for being outside.

DSC_0030

It was a big day for the newest little ladies, they got their first time outside, and loved it.  Tomorrow should be nice so they will get more outdoor time.  Just to be safe, I do keep the heat lamp on for them until it really warms up and I also have a little enclosure with pine shavings for them to go if needed.  Today they ended up not using either.

DSC_0034 DSC_0042

The little ladies sure do love their outdoor time, I need to get more pictures of the rest of them.

DSC_0035

Lulu and Penelope decided to help themselves the littlest ladies feed, guess they didn’t want any waste around here.

DSC_0031The newly planted herb barrel.  I honestly could have herb gardens/planters all over the place, I love them!

DSC_0044 DSC_0037 DSC_0033The actual garden is really taking shape, though it’s not completely filled.  I have such less space than I did at the last house I don’t want to waste a single inch.  Container gardening will be a good way for me to extend my growing capabilities.

DSC_0038 DSC_0039 DSC_0036The strawberries are doing wonderful, wish I could say the same for the thyme… apparently the chickens are fond of thyme.  We have a tree that must have fallen over at some time that now has several little trees growing out of it as well as a squirrel family making it their home.  I am making use of the base by planting mint, I’m hoping it does what mint likes to do and spreads everywhere.

DSC_0032 DSC_0041 I’m trying to add some color (other than the giant purple chicken coop) in random places around the garden, in addition to these two cuties I have another lime green garden stool that of course I forgot to take a picture.

DSC_0054

As I mentioned before, I will be using a lot of containers for extra growing, this one is about 5 feet wide and about 2 feet deep and it’s completely dedicated to growing lettuce and Asian greens for the little ladies.  Of course I’m sure I’ll use a few here and there….

DSC_0049 DSC_0048 DSC_0047 DSC_0046 DSC_0045The greenhouse is really such an added bonus around here, everything grows so much quicker thanks to the warm temperature in there. I’m going to grow a few tomatoes in there as well as in my regular garden to see what difference it makes.

DSC_0050The praying mantis egg sac finally hatched.  If you look closely you will see the one sitting on the leaf.  Exciting times!!

Looking forward to consistent nice days….a Real Housewife can dream, right?

Leave a Reply

